Cocktail with a lemon and ice. How to get a MAST Permit in 4 easy steps.

How to Get a MAST Permit in 4 Easy Steps

If you have just been hired as a bartender or server in the State of Washington, or are looking to become one, you’ll need to know how to get a MAST Permit from an approved course approved by Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB).

You are required by law to have your permit within 60 days of your hire date. Any time you are performing duties that include the sale, service, or handling of alcohol, you must have your ID and permit with you and readily available for inspection by law enforcement. After the 60-day grace period, if you are working without your permit, you are risking receiving a criminal citation with a maximum $500 monetary penalty or up to 90 days in jail, or both.

In this article, we’ll cover:

  1. Step 1: Select an Approved Course
  2. Step 2: Take the training
  3. Step 3: Take the exam
  4. Step 4: Receive your permit by mail

Table of Contents

Step 1: Select an Approved Course

Finding a course that has been certified by the state is easy. On the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board website under “Find a Class”, you can find a list of courses that have been approved to provide Mandatory Alcohol Server Training for both Class 12 and Class 13 permits. There is no separate course for the Class 12 vs Class 13 MAST Permit. Taking any of these courses will satisfy the requirements for both versions of the MAST Permit.

There are in person courses available, but by far, the easiest way to take the course is online. Nothing beats being able to get trained from a coffee shop or the comfort of your own home.

The list below is of the available online and in-person providers approved by WSLCB, as of February, 2023:

Online Providers:

Provider Language(s) Rating Reviews Source
English, Spanish, Korean
4.8 Stars
81 Reviews
A+ Server Education
4.8 Stars
1,362 Reviews
Way to Serve
4.4 Stars
53 Reviews
Sure Sell MAST Training
4.4 Stars
8 Reviews
3.7 Stars
143 Reviews
Craft Serving
4.9 Stars
705 Reviews
3.9 Stars
7 Reviews
RServing (PSCC)
4.7 Stars
3 Reviews
Cheryl’s Last Call
No Reviews
Washington Alcohol Training
4.6 Stars
27 Reviews
Affordable Alcohol Training
5 Stars
4 Reviews
#1 ALERT Alcohol Training
4.3 Stars
3 Reviews
Academy of Training and Prevention
4 Stars
2 Reviews
ALES Washington
5 Stars
4 Reviews
4.4 Stars
12 Reviews
4.5 Stars
149 Reviews

(These providers and reviews are up to date as of February 2023)

In-Person Providers:

In-person training is great for companies who are looking to get their staff trained and certified in large groups. Most of the trainings are available on the west side of the state (Seattle, Tacoma, etc), but some of the providers will travel on-site to give the training.

In-Person Training Providers:

    1. Absolute Alcohol Server Training
    2. AlcoSmart Training and Consulting
    3. INSIDE OUT M.A.S.T. Program
    4. Cheryl’s Last Call
    5. TIPS

Step 2: Take the Training

Once you’ve selected the course, you’ll probably be wondering “how much does a MAST Permit cost?” You’ll typically pay no more than $20 for the training; the most expensive course is provided by TIPS, at $40. The state requires that the provider collect information about your age, sex, date of birth, as well as your Social Security Number. 

Regardless of which course you choose, the training takes a minimum of 3 hours to complete and you’ll have met the state requirements to be certified and receive your permit. Our training at ServeSmart features a distraction free interface that is compatible with desktop, tablet and mobile devices, so you can take the course anywhere!

The course is typically made up of five to six modules, with knowledge checks and end of module quizzes. You can take the course in one sitting, or do it in parts. Each of the online courses listed above saves your progress so you can sign in and out as you please without losing progress.

ServeSmart’s Course Outline:

  1. Module One: Mandatory Alcohol Server Training
  2. Module Two: Alcohol and its Effects on the Body
  3. Module Three: Minors and Checking ID
  4. Module Four: Apparently Intoxicated Person (AIP)
  5. Module Five: Liability
  6. Module Six: Rules Related to Alcohol Laws and MAST

Step 3: Take the Exam

At the end of the course, you’ll have to take the final exam in order to be certified and receive your permit. In some states, you’ll be redirected to the state website, but for Washington, you conveniently get to take the course and exam all in one spot. The exam has a total of 40 questions and the required passing grade is 80% or higher. 

If you fail to pass the exam, there is no need to worry, you can take the exam as many times as you need to get a passing score.

If you have trouble passing the exam and are wondering if there is a resource where you can find the MAST Permit test answers, most courses allow you to revisit lessons to review the information. Another resource you could use is using a search engine. Most of the information is available on the internet.

Step 4: Receive Your Permit by Mail

Upon successful completion of the course and exam, your permit will be mailed to you by your course provider. The course provider is required to mail you your permit and report your completion to the WSLCB within 30 days. You can check the status of your permit by using the “Permit Checker” on the state website. If you do not receive your physical permit within 30 days. It is possible there may be issues with sending the mail through USPS or with your address you provided, so don’t hesitate to reach out to your course provider and ensure you get your permit.

Class 12 Mixologist Permit:
Sample of the Class 12 Mixologist Permit
ServeSmart MAST Permit Certificate of Completion

Additionally after you’ve passed the exam, you’ll be presented with a “Certificate of Completion”. The example to the left is the certificate provided by ServeSmart. Print this certificate and present it to your employer. While you wait for your permit your permit can serve as proof that you have completed the required training. If your employer asks for the certificate or your permit, feel free to give them a copy, but hold on to the original. 

Frequently Asked Questions

The MAST Permit is required to be mailed to you within 30 days, but in most cases you can expect your permit to arrive in one to two weeks.

The MAST Permit is good for 5 years.

If you lose your permit, need to upgrade it from a Class 13 to a Class 12 permit, or update the information on the permit, you can reach out to your course provider directly and they can issue a new permit.

The permit is good for five years, but is not renewable. In order to stay compliant and there is no grace period, WSLCB recommends that you retake the course within 45 days of the expiration date of your current permit.

The MAST Permit is issued by the course provider and not the state.

If you need to check the status of your permit or see if it’s been reported to WSLCB, you can use the Permit Checker. You’ll need your last name and date of birth, or your permit number.

Bartending Schools

Now that you know how to get a MAST Permit, you can take it a step further and get trained to be a bartender. Most bars and restaurants will have on the job training, but you may have to slowly work your way into a bartender position. 

Going through a bartending school will give you over 40 hours of in person training and even help you get hired with job placement services.

These schools cover a variety of topics, including learning how to mix over 200 drinks, including information about wine, coffee, and shooting. In addition to the drinks, you’ll learn how to manage a location, opening and closing routines, how to handle money, and more. For a list of schools in the Seattle and Spokane area, please check out the links below:

Bartending Schools:

  1. National Bartending School
  2. ABC Bartending Schools
  3. ABC Bartending Schools – In Seattle (same name, different company)


The Mandatory Alcohol Server Training is an important piece to getting employment as a seller or server of alcohol in Washington state. Following this article’s 4 easy steps will ensure you know how to get a MAST Permit within the 60 day grace period from the start date of your employment. 

With over 21 options to choose from, you’ll have no problem finding a course provider and getting quality training. Be sure to keep your permit and your ID on you while you are working and keep an eye on your permit’s expiration date. We hope you’ll head to when you need to renew your permit or if this is your first time. 

ServeSmart provides the Mandatory Alcohol Server Training you need to get the skills and knowledge to be certified in Washington State. We offer 100% online training so you can take the course at your own pace. Cheers!

Article by

Picture of Kyle Smeback
Kyle Smeback
Kyle Smeback is an alcohol server training expert focused on creating high quality training courses in the United States. He is the founder and CEO of ServeSmart, an online alcohol server training platform for aspiring bartenders and alcohol sellers/servers.

Recent Posts