GET YOUR MAST
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Certified
Liquor and Cannabis Board
WASHINGTON MANDATORY ALCOHOL SERVER TRAINING
This course is certified by Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) for individuals that need to obtain a Class 12 or Class 13 Permit to serve alcohol at liquor-licensed businesses.
ServeSmart’s three hour course is self paced and simple to use so servers and bartenders can get their permit quickly and efficiently! Our online course features interactive lessons and videos that make learning about Washington’s liquor laws fun and engaging. This approach provides alcohol servers with more relevant content while meeting the requirements of the WSLCB.
Once you register, you can begin the course right away. The registration, course and final exam are completely online. After you finish the course material and pass the exam, your completion will be reported to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB). You will receive your permit by mail.
We’ve developed our Mandatory Alcohol Server Training course to be as painless as possible. Let us help you get your permit today!
3 Easy Steps
Take the Course
Enroll today in our interactive, self-paced online course!
Pass the Exam
Pass the exam with an 80% score or higher!
Receive the Permit
Your permit will arrive via USPS, valid for 5 years.
- Module One: Mandatory Alcohol Server Training
- Module Two: Alcohol and its Effects on the Body
- Module Three: Minors and Checking ID
- Module Four: Apparently Intoxicated Person (AIP)
- Module Five: Liability
- Module Six: Rules Related to Alcohol Laws and MAST
- Course Length: 3 hours
- Exam Questions: 40 Questions
- Exam Attempts: 2x
- Passing Score: 80%
- Pass Guarantee: Yes
- Certificate Type: PDF
- Certificate Valid: 5 years
Get A New Permit
The WSLCB requires you to obtain a permit within 60 days of your initial hire. To get a permit for the first time, you must take a WSLCB certified course. Get your permit today by enrolling below!
Renew Your Permit
Your permit is good for only 5 years. In order to renew, you must retake a WSLCB certified course. It is advised that you renew your permit 45 days prior to the expiration date found at the bottom of your permit. Renew your permit today by enrolling below!
Take the course from your phone!
ServeSmart makes getting your training easier than ever! The course is 100% mobile-friendly, allowing you to take the course anywhere and from your tablet or smartphone. Just log in from your mobile browser and you’re on your way!
What Our Students Are Saying!
What is a Mandatory Alcohol Server Training?
The WSLCB MAST Permit (Mandatory Alcohol Server Training Permit) is a document required by law for anyone who serves, mixes, sells, or who supervises the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption at liquor-licensed establishments.
The Mandatory Alcohol Server Training is provided by third-party providers certified by the WSLCB. Upon successful completion of the course, we will issue you a permit and report the completion to the WSLCB within 30 days. You will receive a Class 12 permit if you are 21 years of age or older or a Class 13 if you are between the ages of 18 and 21.
Class 13 vs Class 12 Permits
Class 13 Server Permit
The Class 13 Permit allows you to:
- Take alcohol orders;
- Deliver alcoholic beverages;
- Pour alcohol into a customer’s glass at their table; and
- Sell alcohol.
Class 12 Mixologist Permit
The Class 12 Permit allows you to:
- Mix drinks;
- Draw alcohol from a tap;
- Conduct alcohol tastings;
- Manage the establishment; and
- Perform all the duties included in the Class 13 permit.
ServeSmart is an online training course that helps anyone who sells or serves alcohol in the state of Washington obtain their permit. More importantly, though, our course aims to educate and empower our students to not only follow the law and avoid legal consequences but to do their part in keeping their community safe.
Frequently Asked Questions
The MAST Permit, or Mandatory Alcohol Server Permit, is a required permit for anyone who serves, mixes, sells, or supervises the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption at any establishment licensed to sell liquor in the State of Washington.
Anyone who sells or serves alcohol or supervises the sale and service of alcohol for on-premises consumption is legally required to have a MAST permit. According to the law, managers, bartenders and servers will all need a permit.
You are required to complete Mandatory Alcohol Server Training within 60 days of the initial hire date. If you are conducting a sampling or tasting at an approved location, you must be able to present your Class 12 permit. There is no grace period for anyone conducting alcohol tastings.
The cost of the Mandatory Alcohol Server Training is: $19.99.
The course is required by the state to take a minimum of 3 hours.
The Class 13 Permit is for people 18 to 20 years old and allows you to:
- Take alcohol orders.
- Carry alcohol to the customer.
- Pour it into a customer’s glass at the table.
The Class 12 Permit is for people 21 years of age and older. The permit allows you to:
- Draw alcohol from the tap and mix drinks.
- Perform duties included in the Class 13 permit.
- Manage the establishment.
- Conduct alcohol tasting.
The permits are good for five years and will expire on the first day of the month after the month you took your test. For example, if you took the test on October 20, 2015, your permit will expire on November 1, 2020.
RCW 26.23.150 requires that the WSLCB obtain an SSN for each permit holder in order to assist in child support enforcement as required by federal law. To issue you a permit, ServeSmart is required by the state to obtain your SSN. If you have any questions or concerns with this requirement, please contact the WSLCB at (360) 664-1727 or (360) 664-1728.
If you lose your permit and or need to change the name on the permit, you may contact us for a replacement permit or the WSLCB.
Washington requires that you retake the training course again in order to renew your permit.
Visit the permit checker and enter either your last name and date of birth (mm,dd,yyyy), or your permit number to see if your permit is still valid.
Once you have successfully completed the course, the provider you took the course through will mail a hard copy of your permit to within 30 days from the date you completed the course.